All signs point to….Cancer?

This is kind of a “pass the time” post, and a post to make sure others keep up with their own health. So it’s only sexy insofar as living longer is sexy!

I have had a history of minor skin problems. I’m pasty as hell, so sun was always a concern to me. Add to this I have more than a few moles.

Well the first abnormal mole I had was at age 12. It was removed, then grown in a lab. The results were less than desirable. The mole appeared to be pre-cancerous. They removed a large chunk of skin.

Around age 16, I had another mole. Repeat process.

Over the past 11 years there were more moles and freckles and most were normal, nothing overly abnormal and anything that looked anything but textbook perfect was watched closely. Nothing ever amounted to anything.

This past weekend I noticed one of the “watches” did something a little weirder than usual…it had grown and changed colours. It was no longer smooth nor uniform in colour.

I immediately made an appointment to see a dermatologist. I wasn’t about to let this “wait and see”.

I go in have a discussion about the history of previous moles. Got stared at closely to see my other moles and freckles and whatnot.

Note: Sunscreen is AWESOME for keeping your skin young and moisturizers like cocoa butter help with scarring and keeping skin supple.

The doc looked at my mole and suggested that I have it biopsied, which is what I had thought when I made the appointment. With any luck they’ve got it all and that will be the end. Track records speaks otherwise…but we shall see.

Tuesday I call for the results.

Bottom line, know your body, intimately. Do not be afraid to see a professional if something is not right. It is for the best. I have thwarted the need for cancer treatment by being proactive about my health. Be sure to take care of yourselves.

Leave a Reply

Shorter Updates

