Gingersnaps

Ok, so I dont’ post regularly, but I know I have some things to say.  I’m working on a schedule of posting, but I figure to start I’ll do a few recipes!

Gingersnap Cookie Recipe (Altered from http://www.applepiepatispate.com/american/gingersnap-cookies/)

The above is the My first batch fresh from the oven!

Ingredients:

Ingredients                  Volume          
all-purpose or bread flour        2 cups 
baking soda                       2 tsp
salt                            1/2 tsp
cloves, ground                  1/4 tsp
cinnamon, ground                1/2 tsp
ginger, ground                    1 tsp
Candied ginger, chopped/minced    about 1/4 cup

unsalted butter                  12 tbsp 
granulated sugar                3/4 cup + 2 tbsp 
large egg, lightly beaten         1
molasses, unsulphured           1/4 cup   

Optional:  sugar for dredging, preferably coarse-grained (sanding or turbinado)

Notes:

  • Have all of the ingredients at room temperature before continuing.

To Prepare the Gingersnap Cookie Dough:

Mix Dry Ingredients
                Place the flour, baking soda, salt, cloves, cinnamon,
                and gingers in a container with a tight lid. Cover and
                shake until thoroughly mixed.

Mix (Creaming Method)
                In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light
                and fluffy.   I did this by hand with a solid rubber spatula.  
                Slowly add the egg followed by the molasses, still by hand,
                mixing to incorporation with each addition.

                Add the dry ingredients to the bowl and mix just until
                smooth and thoroughly incorporated.

Shape           Shape the dough into a log and wrap tightly in parchment paper
                or plastic. Refrigerate until ready to bake.  I found that 
                having the dough chilled left it much easier to work with.  
                About an hour should do.

To Bake the Gingersnap Cookies:

Preheat Oven    350ºF / 175ºC

Prepare two parchment-lined or lightly greased half-sheet pans or
cookie sheets.  Parchment!

Shape           Cut the dough into 1 ounce per piece. Roll into balls and 
                dredge with sugar. Space balls evenly on each half-sheet 
                pan or cookie sheet.  I didn't dredge my cookies and I think 
                they were perfect with out the sugar.

Gingersnap Cookies - Balls of Dough Topped with Turbinado Sugar
From Original Website

Bake            Bake the cookies one sheet at a time, at
                350ºF / 175ºC for 20 to 22 minutes.

Cool            Transfer to a wire rack lined with parchment. The cookies will 
                crisp as they cool.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Windows 7 Home Basic Activation Key
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 06:06:51

    I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    Reply

  2. bet365
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 16:48:43

    how are you I was luck to approach your Topics in bing
    your Topics is exceptional
    I get much in your Topics really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really outstanding
    where can find it

    Reply

  3. Cetona-frambuesa.com
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 06:01:32

    Hola! Te importa que publique varias imágenes de tu blog
    en el mío? No consigo imágenes adecuadas para mi web
    y las tuyas son estupendas. Muchas gracias!

    Reply

  4. phan mem
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 05:31:24

    Normally I ddo noot read article on blogs, however I wish to say thast this write-up very compelled me to ttry
    and do so! Your writing styoe has bwen surprised me. Thanks, quite great post.

    Reply

  5. huong dan hoc lap trinh
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 05:46:56

    Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this
    post reminds me of my good old room mate! He alwaygs kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this post too him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Many thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  6. Declan
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 06:01:57

    Good article. I am facing some of these issues aas well..

    Reply

  7. hoc lap trinh
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:57:57

    I love what you guys tend to be uup too. This kiund of cledver work and exposure!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you uys to my personal blogroll.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Shorter Updates

